Make your own free website on

Iron Cross

Useful Information
Honour Goblet
Flight Clasps
Pilot/Observer Badge
Pilot Badge
Observer Badge
Glider Badge
Radio Operator/Air Gunner Badge
Air Gunner/Flight Engineer Badge
Para Badge
Anti-Aircraft Badge
Ground Assault Badge
Spanish Cross
Iron Cross
Maker Marks
Cases of Issue
Contact Me

The Iron Cross was instituted on September 1st, 1939,  in grades of : 2nd Class, 1st Class, Knights Cross, Knights Cross with Oakleaves.

As the war progressed it was recognised that these grades were not sufficient for the acts of bravery committed in the field of battle so further grades were added: Oakleaves and Swords, Oakleaves and Swords with Diamonds and finally the Golden Oakleaves with Swords and Diamonds.

While not officially a cross, the German Cross in Gold (DKiG) was so named for the swastika in the centre. It was not officially part of the Iron Cross series but to be awarded it, the recipient had to have been already been awarded the Iron Cross 1st Class. However, the DKiG did not have to be awarded for the Knight's cross to be bestowed, so it can be a little confusing. In reality many Knight's Cross winners did not hold the DKiG.

The German Cross was instituted in 1941 and this date can be seen on the wreath.

Click on any of the links below to open up the page of that item.

The Iron Cross family consists of:
Knight's Cross                 
Knight's Cross with Golden Oakleaves, Swords and Diamonds

The Iron Cross Family
Iron Crosses

Worthless Metal?